We are available 24/7


The compassionate allowance program - support for lymphoma cases caused by Roundup

People who have been affected by Roundup, or by other factors, and suffer from a severe type of non-Hodgkin's lymphoma needn't lose hope. By applying to the Compassionate Allowance Program, patients will have a better chance of undergoing high-quality treatment which will improve survival rates.

Lymphoma originates in the lymphatic system and it's the most common blood cancer in the US.

Approximately 1.5 million people around the world are currently living with lymphoma. This type of cancer involves cells of the immune system, called lymphocytes. Doctors classify more than 70 cancer types as lymphomas.

The two predominant types are Hodgkin's lymphoma and non-Hodgkin's lymphoma. Hodgkin's lymphoma is a highly curable form of cancer, while the prognosis of non-Hodgkin's lymphoma depends on the specific type.

Filing for disability with a lymphoma diagnosis

The Social Security Administration divides lymphoma into four basic types in terms of the requirements for qualifying for disability benefits:

  • Mantle Cell Lymphoma
  • Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma
  • Hodgkin's Lymphoma
  • T-cell Lymphoblastic Lymphoma

Although any of these conditions qualify you for a compassionate allowance, you will, however, need to show proof of your doctor's diagnosis, including records of any medical imaging or biopsies your doctor required to come to this diagnosis. The medical evidence you need includes:

  • Record of clinical examinations
  • Pathology reports
  • Record of any surgical procedures performed
  • Treatment records relating to your lymphoma
  • Current progress notes from your physician
  • Imaging tests and biopsies

As long as your claim forms are filled out accurately, your claim should be shuffled into the compassionate allowances program and approved for disability benefits. In most cases, claimants begin receiving benefits within a month or two.

The Compassionate Allowances Program explained

Social Security Administration (SSA) implemented in 2008, a program called the Compassionate Allowance initiative. The aim of the initiative is to identify disabling conditions that qualify a person for Social Security Disability benefits. Compassionate Allowances help to expedite the application process and get your benefits as soon as possible.

Certain conditions are so severe that without any doubt they meet the SSA definition of disability. To be considered disabled you must meet the following criteria: you can no longer perform your occupation or adjust to other work because of your medical condition, your medical condition must last for at least one year or to result in death.

Aggressive or advanced cancers are known as "Compassionate Allowance" conditions and qualify for expedited disability approval.

The immediate confirmation for disability benefits is crucial, as the diseases are often aggressive enough to cause death in a short period of time, although not all of the diseases on the list are necessarily terminal.

The Compassionate Allowances process uses computer technology to identify qualified applications. Once your application is complete, your disability claim is electronically transferred to your state's DDS office.

Some information is needed, such as the medical name of your diagnosed condition, the type, and quantity of medications being taken, and personal information like age, education, and work history. If you are applying for disability benefits based on a cancer diagnosis, a biopsy report is required.

How to apply for a Compassionate Allowance

In order to qualify for Social Disability, you must be completely disabled. Compassionate allowances include now over 200 conditions that are qualified for the program. The Social Security Administration (SSA) is considering other conditions and periodically update the list of accepted conditions.

To file for a Compassionate Allowance, there is no separate application. Therefore it is required to first apply for SSA programs that pay disability benefits. These two programs are Social Security Disability Insurance and Supplemental Security Income. The SSA will determine which applications have disabilities that qualify for the Compassionate Allowance Program.

Compassionate Allowances disability cases processed in a short time

The goal of Compassionate Allowances is to speed the approval process for those with severe disabilities such as terminal cancers. Because a non-Hodgkin's lymphoma diagnosis qualifies you for a compassionate allowance, you should be approved for benefits very quickly - within 6 weeks as opposed to six months to a year for most disability claims.

Filling for social security disability with lymphoma

Lymphomatoid granulomatosis grade III is one of the conditions that have been recently included in the SSA's Compassionate Allowance guidance. It is important to note that in order to qualify for disability benefits, you need to fill out disability application forms.

To support your claim, you have to provide the SSA with enough medical evidence. Under the Compassionate Allowances program, patients diagnosed with lymphomatoid granulomatosis Grade III are among those who may qualify for claim processing under expedited guidelines.

If you have been exposed to Roundup, we can help

If you have frequently been exposed to Roundup and have been diagnosed with lymphoma, you should also learn more about your rights to file a claim for compensation.

Our experienced team of experts has a genuine desire to help victims with lymphoma cancer caused by Roundup and dedicated to fighting for the rights of individuals harmed by unsafe products.